Department Chairs and Program Directors 2021-2022

Department Chairs and Program Directors

American Studies Dr. Scott Gac email 860-297-2347
Anthropology Dr. Shafqat Hussain email ​860-297-2358
Art History Dr. Kathleen Curran email 860-297-2504
Biology Dr. Lisa-Anne Foster email ​860-297-2349
Chemistry Dr. Timothy Curran email 860-297-5276
Classical Studies Dr. Martha Risser email 860-297-2386
Computer Science Dr. Peter Yoon email ​860-297-2461
Economics Dr. Carol Clark email 860-297-2481
Educational Studies Dr. Jack Dougherty email 860-297-2296
Engineering ​Dr. Joseph Palladino email ​860-297-2129
English ​​Dr. Christopher Hager email ​860-297-4141
Environmental Science Dr. Christoph Geiss email 860-297-4191
Film Studies Dr. Madalene Spezialetti (co-director) email 860-297-2519
Dr. Karen Humphreys (co-director) email 860-297-4237
History ​​Dr. Jeffrey Bayliss email 860-297-4018
Human Rights Dr. Benjamin Carbonetti email 860-297-2325
International Studies Dr. Seth Markle email 860-297-4290
Jewish Studies Dr. Samuel Kassow email 860-297-2390
Language and Culture Studies Dr. Sara Kippur email ​860-297-2095
Mathematics Dr. Paula Russo ​email ​860-297-2284
Music Dr. Eric Galm email ​860-297-4201
Neuroscience Dr. Sarah Raskin email 860-297-2342
Philosophy Dr. Shane Ewegen email ​860-297-2328
Physical Education Mr. Drew Galbraith email ​860-297-2057
Physics Dr. Barbara Walden email ​860-297-5324
Political Science Dr. Stefanie Chambers email ​860-297-5293
Psychology Dr. Dina Anselmi email ​860-297-2236
Public Policy and Law Dr. Adrienne Fulco email 860-297-2435
Religious Studies
​Dr. Tamsin Jones email ​860-297-2567
​​Sociology Dr. Johnny Williams ​email ​860-297-2467
Studio Arts Mr. Joseph Byrne email 860-297-2208
Theater and Dance ​​Mr. Michael Preston email 860-297-2204
Urban Studies Dr. Xiangming Chen email 860-297-5170
Women, Gender, and Sexuality Dr. Robert Corber (spring) email 860-297-5340
Dr. Zayde Antrim (acting fall) email 860-297-2230

Non-Major Academic Program Directors

Aetna Quantitative Center Ms. Kaitlyn Gingras email ​860-297-2522
Allan K. Smith Center for Writing and Rhetoric Dr. Tennyson O’Donnell email ​860-297-2206
Center for Hartford Engagement and Research (CHER) Dr. Abigail Williamson email 860-297-2571
Center for Urban and Global StudiesCities Program Dr. Garth Myers email ​860-297-4273
​Community Learning Initiative and Community Action Gateway Ms. Erica Crowley email ​860-297-5223
Global Health Humanities Gateway Dr. Diana Paulin (co-director) email ​860-297-2451
Dr. Erin Frymire (co-director) email ​860-297-2382
Graduate Studies Program and English Graduate Studies Program Dr. Daniel Mrozowski email ​860-297-4169
Graduate Studies – American Studies Dr. Scott Gac email 860-297-2347
Graduate Studies – Public Policy Dr. Kevin McMahon email 860-297-4073
Humanities Gateway Program Dr. Julia Goesser Assaiante (co-director) email 860-297-4221
Dr. Sheila Fisher (co-director) email ​860-297-2457
InterArts Ms. Rebecca Pappas (co-director) email 860-297-4093
Ms. Lynn Sullivan (co-director) email 860-297-5171
​​Interdisciplinary Science Program (ISP) ​Dr. Alison Draper email 860-297-5189
Liberal Arts Action Lab Dr. Emily Cummins email 860-297-2556