The Center for Hartford Engagement and Research strengthens educational partnerships between Hartford’s diverse communities and students, staff, and faculty at Trinity College, and evaluates campus-city relationships. CHER coordinates the work of five core programs below. Sign up for our newsletter here.

students working on a project in a community learning classCommunity Learning

Community Learning fosters academic connections with Hartford partners to deepen experiential learning through mutually beneficial collaboration. Community Learning programs include the Community Action first-year gateway and Community Learning Research Fellows. Contact Director Erica.Crowley@trincoll.edu. Visit the Community Learning website.

students delivering boxes of foodCommunity Service and Civic Engagement

Community Service and Civic Engagement fosters leadership by engaging students in building and maintaining sustainable community partnerships in Hartford, as well as educating and involving them in a range of broader social issues. Contact Joe.Barber@trincoll.edu or Beatrice.Alicea@trincoll.edu. Learn more here.

HMTCA studentsHartford Magnet Trinity College Academy (HMTCA) Partnership

The HMTCA-Trinity Partnership connects the College with Hartford Magnet Trinity College Academy (HMTCA), a grade 6-12 interdistrict magnet school with city and suburban students in an early college program. Contact Director Robert.Cotto@trincoll.edu. Learn more here.

student researchers with community partnersLiberal Arts Action Lab

The Liberal Arts Action Lab engages research teams of students and faculty from Capital Community College and Trinity College to investigate questions posed by Hartford partners and propose solutions. Contact Communications and Program Assistant Morgan.Finn@trincoll.edu. Visit the Action Lab website.

students outside Trinfo Cafe

Trinfo.Café

Trinfo.Café is a neighborhood gathering space, cyber café, and community garden. Trinfo provides computer literacy training for Hartford youth, adults, small businesses, and non-profits. Events and the garden bring together residents alongside Trinity students, staff, and faculty. Contact Carlos.Espinosa@trincoll.edu or Cynthia.Mena@trincoll.edu. Learn more here.

Follow us on social media