According to Connecticut law, you can use your out-of-country driver’s license in Connecticut for up to one year without applying for a local license. However, many students find it more convenient to apply for a CT license. All applicants are required to apply for a driver’s permit first and then there is a waiting period of 90 days to apply for the driver’s license if you do not have a license from your home country.
If you choose to do so, you must take the required 8-hour safe driving course offered at approved driving school sites in Connecticut. You must also take a test at the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). Follow this link for test preparation materials.
Before you go to DMV to get your permit, please make sure you have all the required documents below:
- A valid I-20 and a letter from Registrar’s Office stating that you are a current full-time student.
- Social Security Card (Or denial letter from the SSA stating that you are not eligible for one)
- Proof of Connecticut Resident Address: You must bring two pieces of mail (usually phone bills, bank statements etc) which is postmarked within 90 days.
- A passport-sized photo
- $40 testing fee in the forms of cash, money orders, personal checks, bank checks or MasterCard, Visa, Discover and most debit cards.
- A completed R-229 application form.
You must pass three tests to receive your license: an eye exam, a knowledge test, and a road test. You’ll take the eye exam and knowledge test the first time you appear at the DMV. After passing the knowledge test you will be able to schedule an appointment for the road test at any full-service office as well as the Winsted satellite office. You can find out more information about the driving test and test centers here.