The Nests

The 10 Nests were named by Trinity students for many of Trinity's traditions:
 

Lemon Nest

During Class Day in 1857, a senior named William Niles presented a wooden lemon squeezer to the Class of 1859 as recognition of the sophomores’ “aggregate excellence in scholarship” and “moral character.” From that day forward, every Class Day included a ceremonial passing down of the lemon squeezer to the rising class that proved the most popular. Today, the latest version of the lemon squeezer makes its only appearance during Convocation, when the College president squeezes a fresh lemon to make a toast to the incoming class, followed by lemonade for all.
 

Elms Nest

Trinity's campus is famous for its elm trees, and you'll often hear the term “’neath the elms” during your lifetime as a Bantam. The elm trees are planted in the shape of a “T” on the Main Quad.
 

Brownell Nest

Trinity's principal founder and first president is the Rt. Rev. Thomas Brownell, bishop of the Episcopal Diocese of Connecticut. The bishop continues to preside over campus to this day in the form of an impressive statue situated  in the center of the College's Main Quad.
 

Cannon Nest

Positioned on the east end of the Main Quad, directly behind the statue of Trinity's first president, Bishop Brownell, reside two cannons. These Civil War relics are from the main armament of the steam-powered U.S.S. Hartford. The cannons were presented to the College as a gift from the City of Hartford and are a memorial to the more than 100 Trinity men who served in the Union and Confederate forces.
 

Roosevelt Nest

There is a large rectangular stone set into the Long Walk in front of the Fuller Arch at Northam Towers. Inscribed into the stone is an Old Testament verse from 1 Kings 20: 11, reading, “Let not him that girdeth on his harness boast himself as he that putteth it off.” The quote was the centerpiece of a Commencement address delivered at Trinity in 1918 by former President of the United States Theodore Roosevelt, who came at the request of his friend and Trinity President Flavel S. Luther. Soon after the commemorative “Luther-Roosevelt” stone was laid in 1919, Trinity students began the tradition of never walking on the stone before their Commencement day, fearing that to do so would in some way prevent their graduating. Graduating seniors do make a point of ceremonially stepping on the stone as they process at Commencement.
 

Washington Nest

When Trinity was founded in the spring of 1823, its original name was Washington College. The school's name was changed in 1845 when it moved to its current location on Summit Street in Hartford.
 

Book Nest

The oldest continuously observed tradition at Trinity, matriculation is the symbolic act of enrolling at the College. Every incoming first-year student is asked to sign the matriculation declaration, known as “The Charter and Standing Rules,” first penned in 1826.
 

Olmsted Nest

Trinity's iconic  Main Quad was designed by famed landscape architect Frederick Law Olmsted.
 

Lockwood Nest

This Nest is named for President Theodore Davidge Lockwood '48, H'81, who led the College from 1968-1981, and was instrumental in Trinity's admittance of women and minorities.
 

Minty Nest

Paying homage to President Joanne Berger-Sweeney for her concept of a student mentoring network, this Nest is named for the Berger-Sweeney family's beloved golden Labrador, Minty.