The Theodor M. Mauch Memorial Prize is the gift of Thomas M. Chappell ’66, Hon. ’06, P’89, ’92, ’97, ’06, of Kennebunk, Maine, in memory of Theodor M. Mauch, Professor of Religion and Ellsworth Morton Tracy Lecturer Emeritus, a revered member of the Religion Department from 1957 to 1987, who taught and inspired Mr. Chappell.

The Abraham Joshua Heschel Prize Gifts from Dr. Edmond L. Cherbonnier and others in memory of Rabbi Abraham Joshua Heschel. Rabbi Heschel was an eminent philosopher and theologian, and father of Dr. H. Susannah Heschel ’73. Income to be used for an annual award in recognition of outstanding achievement in the study of religion. Prior to its endowment in 1990, the prize was originally established in 1976 by gifts from friends of Phyllis S. and Leonard E. Greenberg, 1948, Hon. ’98, of Boynton Beach, FL, on theoccasion of their 25th Wedding Anniversary. Mr. Greenberg was a Trustee of the College from 1972 to 1991.

The First-Year Hebrew Award in Hebrew Grammar is given to encourage the study of the Old Testament/Hebrew Bible among college students. It is awarded to the first-year student who demonstrates the best understanding of the Hebrew language as a tool for the scholarly study of the Bible.

The Prime Minister Yitzhak Rabin Prize in Jewish Studies is awarded annually for excellence in Jewish Studies to a member of the junior or senior class. The prize is in memory of Prime Minister Yitzhak Rabin, and given by Berel and Helen Lang in honor of Sarah Stamm Lang.

The John Andrew Gettier Prize in Hebrew Bible, established in 2001 by Robert Benjamin, Jr., of the Class of 1971, is awarded to that undergraduate, preferably a senior, who demonstrates significant academic and personal growth as a student of the Hebrew Bible.