Spring 2022 A.K. Smith Virtual Reading Series Schedule

Maaza Mengiste

Wednesday, March 16th at 7 p.m.

Registration link: https://trincoll.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_BKRj0rPTR-O1j5-33R4qwA

Maaza Mengiste is the author of The Shadow King, shortlisted for the 2020 Booker Prize, and a recipient of the American Academy of Arts & Letters Award in Literature, as well as a LA Times Books Prize finalist. It was named a Best Book of 2019 by New York Times, NPR, Time, Elle, and other publications. Beneath the Lion’s Gaze, her debut, was selected by the Guardian as one of the 10 best contemporary African books.


Valeria Luiselli

Wednesday, April 6th at 7 p.m.

Registration link: https://trincoll.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_qj1MAqmLTuy2VUx_XiiqWQ

Valeria Luiselli was born in Mexico City and grew up in South Korea, South Africa and India. An acclaimed writer of both fiction and nonfiction, she is the author of  SidewalksFaces in the CrowdThe Story of My TeethTell Me How It Ends: An Essay in Forty Questions and Lost Children Archive. She is the recipient of a 2019 MacArthur Fellowship and the winner of DUBLIN Literary Award, two Los Angeles Times Book Prizes, The Carnegie Medal, an American Book Award, and has been nominated for the National Book Critics Circle Award, the Kirkus Prize, and the Booker Prize. She has been a National Book Foundation “5 Under 35” honoree and the recipient of a Bearing Witness Fellowship from the Art for Justice Fund. Her work has appeared in The New Yorker, The New York TimesGranta, and McSweeney’s, among other publications, and has been translated into more than twenty languages. She is a Writer in Residence at Bard College and lives in New York City.