The Trinity College Board of Trustees voted in February and April 2022 to approve promotions of faculty members and to award emeritus status to retiring faculty members.

“The impact of any college is defined in large measure by the quality of its faculty,” said Dean of the Faculty and Vice President for Academic Affairs Sonia Cardenas. “Trinity faculty inspire students, create knowledge, and build community.”

Trinity College President Joanne Berger-Sweeney, writing on behalf of the Board of Trustees, said, “So much of Trinity’s growth is due to the care and mindful mentorship that our faculty members bring to campus to fulfill our academic mission. … Congratulations to all!”

The following faculty promotions and status changes will go into effect July 1, 2022:

Awarded Tenure and Promoted to Associate Professor:

Hasan Cömert—Economics

Michael A. Grubb—Psychology

Christina Heatherton—American Studies and Human Rights

Rosario Hubert—Language and Culture Studies

Luis A. Martinez—Neuroscience

Amber L. Pitt—Environmental Science and Biology

Alyson K. Spurgas—Sociology

Ewa Syta—Computer Science

Of the faculty who were promoted to associate professor with tenure, Cardenas said, “They are all dedicated mentors and inclusive teachers; their research has been widely published, and their reach is both global and local. Across academic disciplines, they represent the very best of the liberal arts. We congratulate each of our colleagues for their well-deserved promotions, wishing them ongoing success and thanking them for all they have contributed already to our campus and beyond.”

Promoted to Full Professor:

Janet Bauer—International Studies

Christopher Hoag—Economics

Jennifer Regan-Lefebvre—History

Mark Stater—Economics

Retiring Faculty Members Awarded Emeritus Status:

Professor of Fine Arts Joseph Byrne

Professor of English Sheila Fisher

Professor of Language and Culture Studies Thomas Harrington

Brownell Professor of Philosophy Dan Lloyd

Professor of Anthropology Beth Notar

Principal Lecturer in Language and Culture Studies Giuliana Palma

Associate Professor of Psychology David Reuman

College Organist, Director of Chapel Music, and Adjunct Professor of Music John Rose

Associate Professor of Physical Education George Suitor

Scott M. Johnson ’97 Distinguished Professor of Anthropology James Trostle