President’s Fellows

At the start of each year, INTS faculty members select one major to be the President’s Fellow. Established in 1974, the Society of President’s Fellows honors one senior from each department and program. The President’s Fellows meet with the President and discuss campus issues; they also edit the Trinity Papers.


Prerequisites for honors are an A- average in the 10-credit major and the completion of a one-credit honors thesis, normally in the spring semester of the senior year. These will be graded on a pass/fail basis. A committee convened in early May of each year will evaluate the theses to determine which among the eligible majors will receive honors at graduation. In certain cases, theses submitted to other departments and programs may be considered for honors in international studies. Guidelines and applications​ for the honors thesis are made available each year on the program website and are typically due in late October.

The Professor Albert L. Gastmann Book Prize in International Studies

Established in 2000, the Gastmann Prize is given annually to a senior major in INTS with experience abroad who has demonstrated exceptional academic achievements. Albert L. Gastmann came to Trinity College in 1954, taught in the Political Science department, wrote several books (including the 1968 monograph, The Politics of Surinam and the Netherlands Antilles, as well as the co-authored 2001 book, A History of Credit and Power in the Western World), and gave yeoman service to the then fledgling INTS program. Prof. Gastmann died on February 1, 2007.

2021 Gastmann Prize Winner: Chang Gao
2020 Gastmann Prize Winner: Hamna Tariq
2019 Gastman Prize Winner: Elizabeth Patino
2018 Gastmann Prize Winners: Mallika Khanna and Noor Malik (co-winners)

The Leslie G. Desmangles Prize in Caribbean and Latin American Studies

The Leslie G. Desmangles Prize in Caribbean and Latin American Studies is awarded to a graduating senior in International Studies who has demonstrated personal growth and academic excellence in Caribbean and Latin American Studies.

2021 Desmangles Prize Winner: Stephanie Cerda-Ocampo
2020 Desmangles Prize Winner: Yisbell Marrero
2019 Desmangles Prize Winner: Hannah Grosberg
2018 Desmangles Prize Winner: Kate Dietrich-Manion