Every year, the economics department at Trinity College recognizes majors with outstanding academic, social, and sport-related performances. Students receive various money amounts as well as recognition and certificates presented on Honor’s Day, which was held Monday May 9th this 2021/2022 academic year.

The G. Keith Funston Prize award is awarded annually to seniors majoring in economics who are outstanding scholars and are actively involved in the life of the College. This year’s prize was awarded to five students: Rayan Mohammad Ali, Amina K. Taher, Marios Bourtzonis, Chayapa Sukhum, and Olivia F. Louthen.

The Faculty of Economics Award is presented annually to graduating seniors majoring in economics who, by vote of the Faculty of Economics, are considered to have demonstrated the greatest promise as professional economists. This year’s award was shared by Iryna Onyshko, Amy E. Paul, and Hassan Muhammad Rashid.

The John C. Alexander Memorial Award is presented annually to senior economics majors who are members of a varsity squad and who have demonstrated the most academic progress during their Trinity career. This year’s prize was awarded to six students: Alistair Matule, Sydney Yanick, Jeffrey Teng, Michael Turner, Evan Ohuabunwa, and Whitney Hoban.

The Ferguson Prize in Economics is presented annually to senior/s for the best thesis in economics. This year’s winner of the first prize was Amy Paul for her paper “The Relationship between M and GMM Estimation”. The second prize was awarded to Theodore Wong for his paper “Special Purpose Acquisition Companies: Finding Truth and Value in Financial Markets”.

The Peter J. Schaefer Memorial Prize consists of the annual award of bookstore gift cards to the first year students who have achieved the highest grades in introductory economics in the preceding academic year. This year’s prize was awarded to 12 students: Luke Angelus Jr, Andrew Bailey, Peter Cannon, Libby Geisler, Brendan Haddad, Griffin Lewis, Sophia Lobkowicz, Matt Markovic, Faith Monahan, Louis Salz, Benny Simoes, and Rile St. Pierre.

Finally, Honors in the economics major are bestowed to those who meet the following criteria: (1) completed ECON 301 and ECON 302 with an average grade of B+ or better, with neither grade lower than a B; (2) an average grade of B+ or better in all economics courses taken at Trinity, with a grade of A- or better in at least half of those courses; and (3) completed ECON 498-499, a senior thesis, with a grade of A- or better and ECON 402-403. This year, three students received the Honors: Todd B. Kawahara, Amy E. Paul, and Chayapa Sukhum.