Seven alumni student-athletes and former coaches make up Trinity College’s Athletics Hall of Fame Class of 2024.

The Class of 2024 inductees are Hannah Brickley ’14, Lanier Drew ’80, Bea Gratry ’05, Ryan Martin ’92, Pat McNamara ’78, and storied coaches Daniel E. Jessee and Ray Oosting. They will be joined by Marcus Cowie, Hall of Fame Class of 2021, Kathy Ennis Young, Hall of Fame Class of 2022, and Leanne LeBrun Dineen, Hall of Fame Class of 2023, who deferred prior inductions.

The group will be officially inducted into the Athletics Hall of Fame at an on-campus ceremony during Homecoming Weekend on October 26, said Director of Athletics Drew Galbraith.

“Our Hall of Fame Committee has again identified an esteemed group of Bantams who in this case span the past 100 years,” said Galbraith. “While the world and college sports changed significantly between Ray Oosting coaching his first game in 1924 and Hannah Brickley finishing her career in 2014, one thing that remains a constant is Bantam athletes committing to do their best for Trinity. These inductees exemplify the Bantam spirit.”

The Trinity College Athletics Hall of Fame was created to celebrate the rich history of athletic excellence at Trinity College that spans more than 160 years. The Hall of Fame honors the men and women who, through athletics participation, coaching or service, have distinguished themselves in the field of intercollegiate athletics, brought honor and acclaim to Trinity, and contributed to the success and advancement of intercollegiate athletics at the college.

The Trinity College Athletics Hall of Fame Class of 2024

Hannah Brickley ’14, volleyball and women’s basketball

Brickley was member of the women’s volleyball program for four seasons, and the women’s basketball program for two seasons. Brickley was a two-time American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) All-New England selection, a three-time New England Women’s Volleyball Association (NEWVA) All-New England selection, and a three-time All-New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) selection. Brickley is one of four players in the history of the volleyball program to amass 1,000 kills and 1,000 digs. At the time of induction, Brickley ranked 2nd all-time in kills (1,257), 5th all-time in digs (1,212) and 6th all-time in attack percentage (.216). As a member of the women’s basketball team, Brickley averaged 10.5 points per game. Off the court, Brickley was a 2013 CoSIDA Academic All-American and a two-time CoSIDA Academic All-District selection.

Lanier Drew ’80, women’s cross country, basketball, swimming and diving, softball, track and field

Drew was a pioneer for women’s athletics at Trinity. Drew assisted with the creation of the women’s swimming and diving, cross country, and softball teams. Drew captained and swam for Trinity’s inaugural swimming and diving team in 1976-77 and would serve as co-captain of Trinity’s first varsity squad in 1978-79. In 1977, Drew started the women’s cross country program as the only woman running with the men’s team, and won her only meet over Coast Guard, Eastern Connecticut and Connecticut College with a time of 18.44 on the 3-mile course. Drew ran on the first women’s track and field team at Trinity in 1979, and during her senior season, she broke the school record for the one-mile run just days after racing in the Boston Marathon.

Bea Gratry ’05, women’s lacrosse

Gratry was a member of the women’s lacrosse and field hockey programs while at Trinity. Gratry burst onto the scene as a first-year, claiming National Rookie of the Year honors in 2002. Gratry earned All-American status in 2004 and 2005, along All-Region status three times. In the New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC), Gratry was the 2002 Rookie of the Year, and a three-time All-NESCAC selection. At the time of induction, Gratry is the women’s lacrosse program leader in career points (287), career goals (233), career points per game (4.86), and career goals per game (3.95). Gratry owns the single-season record for points per game (5.73) and goals per game (4.80), both set during the 2005 season. During her lone season as a member of the field hockey team, Gratry delivered the sixth-most goals per game, averaging 0.64 during the 2001 season.

Ryan Martin ’92, men’s lacrosse

Martin was a member of the men’s lacrosse program while at Trinity. Martin achieved All-American status in 1992, along with an All-New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) team selection. At the time of induction, Martin is the program leader in career points (217), career goals (137), and career assists (80). In 1992, Martin registered the second-most points (72), goals (43), and assists (39) in a single season. Martin served as team captain during the 1992 season.

Pat McNamara ’78, football

During the 1978 season, McNamara set single season records for receptions (67), receiving yards (1,024), receiving touchdowns (11), which stood for 45 years. McNamara earned Kodak Little All-American status in 1978 after leading small colleges in receptions and helping guide the Bantams to a New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) Championship. At the time of induction, McNamara ranks 4th in career receptions per game (5.88), 5th in career receiving yards (2,280), 5th in career touchdowns (20), and 6th in career receptions (141).

Daniel E. Jessee, coach for football and baseball

Jessee was a former football head coach and baseball head coach while at Trinity for 35 years, from 1932-1966. He served as football head coach for the entirety of that time, registering a record of 150-76-7. Under Jessee’s watch, the Bantams registered four undefeated season, including back-to-back perfect campaigns in 1954 and 1955. Jessee played in one game for the Cleveland Indians (Guardians) during the 1929 season, serving as a pinch runner. He was baseball head coach at Trinity from 1935-61, followed by a stint from 1963-67, establishing a record of 239-170-5. Jessee served as president of the National Collegiate Coaches Association and the American College Football Coaches Association. His textbook, Baseball, was published in 1938, and he conducted baseball and football clinics for the United States servicemen during World War II.

Ray Oosting, coach for men’s basketball and an administrator

Oosting served as the men’s basketball head coach, track and field head coach, cross country coach, and director of athletics while at Trinity. Oosting led the men’s basketball program from 1924-40, and 1942-57, registering a 253-194 record. Oosting owns the second-most wins in program history and the fourth-highest winning percentage (.569) over his 32 years as coach. Known as the “Dean of New England Basketball Coaches,” Oosting was the first coach from a small college to be named president of the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC), assuming the role in 1956. Oosting retired in 1966 and served as professor emeritus of physical education at Trinity.