Trinity College Director of Athletics Drew Galbraith was named a recipient of the 2023-24 National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) Athletics Director of the Year Award Wednesday, March 20.

The award recognizes 28 winners across seven divisions in college sports. Winners will be celebrated in conjunction with the 59th Annual NACDA & Affiliates Convention at Mandalay Bay Resort in Las Vegas, Nevada, June 11.

“I am truly honored and humbled to be recognized alongside so many extraordinary colleagues for this award,” said Galbraith. “This is a testament to the culture we’ve built at Trinity and the tremendous dedication of our coaches and staff. I am inspired each day by our student athletes’ pursuit of excellence in scholarship, sport, and service to our Hartford community It is a privilege for me to work with a group of committed professionals and amazing students who work tirelessly to make Trinity Athletics special.”

At Trinity, Galbraith is responsible for 30 varsity teams, over 700 varsity student-athletes, as well as 80 coaches and staff. In addition, he oversees all club and intramural activities and chairs the College’s Physical Education Department, which offers dozens of classes each semester and plays a key role in the College’s Wellness Curriculum.

Galbraith has held the top athletics role at Trinity since 2017. During his time at the premier liberal arts institution, he has prioritized the student-athlete experience. Galbraith has fostered growth in fundraising for athletics, which supports the financial health of the department. Most recently, Galbraith spearheaded a successful capital campaign for a $30.1 million project to expand the Ferris Athletic Center, due to be completed in June 2025.

Galbraith has also been a staunch advocate for equity in athletics, highlighted by facility improvements at Robin L. Sheppard Field and the Trinity Softball Field. As an active member of the campus community, Galbraith supports the Student Success and Enrollment Management division.

Galbraith came to Trinity after 14 years at Dartmouth College, where he was the senior associate director of athletics and executive director of Dartmouth Peak Performance.

In an effort to create a sustainable financial future for Trinity’s Athletic Department, Galbraith headed fundraising initiatives leading to records for annual giving and new donors. In addition, the College has secured several new athletic endowments in the past six years. Building on success of athletic facility projects completed in the past decade, Robin L. Sheppard Field was replaced in 2018, and Oosting Gymnasium received a facelift and all new seating in 2019, and a new floor in 2021. Sheppard Field and Jessee/Miller Field received new seating, press box, and VIP spaces in 2021. A new artificial surface was installed at the Softball Field in 2023.

Trinity has been named to host four Division III NCAA Championships between 2021 and 2025, including field hockey in 2021; women’s basketball, 2023; men’s ice hockey, 2024; and field hockey, 2025. In addition to serving on several committees on campus and in the New England Schools and Colleges Athletic Conference, Galbraith is serving a four-year term on the NCAA Division III Men’s Golf Committee beginning in 2023.

The award comes amidst a remarkably successful year for Trinity in sports, highlighted by:

  • Women’s Squash winning the College Squash Association National Title.
  • Men’s Ice Hockey reaching the NCAA Frozen Four and championship game.
  • Men’s Basketball reaching the NCAA Final Four with a NESCAC title and 30-2 season.
  • Men’s Squash finishing as national runners-up for the second straight season.
  • Women’s Basketball reaching the NCAA tournament for the second straight year.
  • Football winning its second straight NESCAC Championship and fifth in the last seven seasons
  • Women’s Ice Hockey, Field Hockey, Women’s Soccer, Women’s Lacrosse and Men’s Golf achieving national rankings
  • Trinity student-athletes boasting an impressive 3.35 grade point average collectively in the Fall of 2023

“NACDA is honored to continue the tradition of the Athletics Director of the Year Award and recognize a new class of individuals for 2023-24,” said Pat Manak, NACDA chief executive officer. “As an Association it is part of our mission to develop tomorrow’s leaders led by today’s decision makers, which is why it is so fitting that 21 of the 28 recipients of the award this year are first-time winners. We are proud to play a small role in growing the pipeline of athletics directors making an impact throughout the industry.”

The Athletic Director of the Year Award program is in its 26th year and has recognized a total of 584 leaders to date.

The full list of 2023-24 winners across the following seven divisions:

Winner Institution (at the time of nomination)
Football Bowl Subdivision
Jeff Bourne James Madison University
Julie Cromer Ohio University
Rick George University of Colorado
Desireé Reed-Francois University of Missouri
Football Championship Subdivision
Kery Davis Howard University
Jason Donnelly Furman University
Martin Newton Samford University
Chrissi Rawak University of Delaware
Division I-AAA
John D’Argenio Siena College
Chris May Saint Louis University
Chris Reynolds Bradley University
Jared Sumsion Utah Valley University
Division II
Rachel Burleson Franklin Pierce University
Kirby Garry Cal State Monterey Bay
Lisa Goddard McGuirk Gannon University
Michael Mominey Nova Southeastern University
Division III
Jennifer Baker Johns Hopkins University
Drew Galbraith Trinity College
Kristin Hughes Smith College
Angel Mason Berry College
Chris Kraftick University of the Cumberlands
Troy Plummer Grand View University
Kris Swogger Keiser University
Drew Watson Southeastern University
Junior/Community College
Christina Hundley Paradise Valley Community College
Joe Jennum Mt. San Antonio College
Shane Larson Iowa Western Community College
Kristen Schuth Genesee Community College