Steering Committee

The Steering Committee (SC) is charged with leading and guiding the Bicentennial Strategic Planning Commission.  The SC shall set the tone for a planning effort that is bold in its thinking, optimistic in its vision, and realistic in its resourcing—and by doing so, will guarantee a successful outcome that becomes the framework for continual planning and implementation at Trinity.  At the outset, the SC will propose a draft mission statement that captures the current aspirations and values of Trinity, and this document will serve as the guidepost for all strategic planning efforts and as a framework for future decision making.  Along the way, the SC will ensure the planning process is broadly participatory, actively seeks out viewpoints from all Trinity constituencies, and will consider a variety of ideas.  The SC will be responsible for ensuring coordination of and focus on the cross-cutting topics that span all areas studied by the subcommittees.  The SC will ultimately consolidate the separate subcommittee reports into a comprehensive, cohesive whole.  The SC’s final task will be to design a process to transition the College from planning into implementation of the final plan and to adopt a structure for continual planning and assessment.​


The Steering Committee is chaired by President Joanne Berger-Sweeney, and the members include the faculty secretary, the co-chairs of each of the subcommittees,  the president of the SGA, and the chairs of the exempt and non-exempt staff councils.

Joanne Berger-Sweeney

President and Trinity College Professor of Neuroscience
Chair, Steering Committee​

Kathleen Kete

Borden W. Painter, Jr., '58/H'95 Professor of European History
Faculty Secretary

Kathy Curran

Professor of Fine Arts

Deke Mathieu

General Counsel and Secretary of the College

Tim Cresswell

Vice President for Academic Affairs and Dean of the Faculty

Anne Lambright

Charles A. Dana Research Professor of Language and Culture Studies

Susan Masino

Vernon Roosa Professor of Applied Science​

Jason Rojas M’12

President's Chief of Staff

Chris Hager

Associate Professor of English

Melanie Stein

Dean of Academic Affairs

Dan Hitchell

Vice President of Finance and Chief Financial Officer
Co-Chair, Resources

Kate McGlew

Associate Director, College Events and Learning Space Scheduling
Chair, Exempt Staff Council

Kevin McMahon

John R. Reitemeyer Professor of Political Science
Co-Chair, Resources​

Ryan Miller ’17

President, Student Government Association

Charmaine Waul ’08

Student Accounts Assistant
Chair, Non-Exempt Staff Council