Trinity Welcomes Carl Phillips as This Year’s Hugh Ogden Poet-in-Residence

Reading and Reception Open to the Public on Wednesday, March 8

​Hartford, Connecticut, March 3, 2017 – The Trinity College English Department will welcome distinguished poet Carl Phillips as this year’s Hugh Ogden Poet-in-Residence. As part of the Allan K. Smith Reading Series, Phillips will give a public reading on Wednesday, March 8, at 7:00 p.m. in the Admissions and Career Development Center Grand Room, preceded by a reception at 6:00 p.m. The event is free and open to the public.

​Hugh Ogden Poet-in-Residence Carl Phillips.
During his residency from March 6 through 10, Phillips will also host a craft lecture, meet with Trinity students, and visit younger poets from Hartford public schools.

Phillips is the author of 13 books of poetry, most recently Reconnaissance and Silverchest. His latest book of prose is The Art of Daring: Risk, Restlessness, Imagination, and he has translated Sophocles’s Philoctetes. His honors include the PEN USA Award in Poetry, the Los Angeles Times Book Prize for Poetry, the Kingsley Tufts Award, two Lambda Literary Awards, and fellowships from the Guggenheim Foundation, the Library of Congress, and the Academy of American Poets. Currently the judge for the Yale Series of Younger Poets, Phillips teaches at Washington University in St. Louis.

Assistant Professor of English Ethan Rutherford, the director of Trinity’s creative writing program, said, “Carl Phillips is one of the most prominent, and exciting, poets working today. We are thrilled that he is this year’s Ogden Poet-in-Residence. This residency provides our students with a wonderful opportunity to interact with Carl and his work, and we encourage anyone interested in poetry to come hear him read on Wednesday, March 8.”

The residency was established by family, friends, and colleagues in memory of Hugh S. Ogden, professor of English at Trinity College from 1967 to 2006. Past Hugh Ogden Poets have included David Wojahn, Steve Foley ’72, M’78, James Longenbach ’81, Chase Twichell ’73, and Herman Asarnow ’72, among others.