Trinity’s 188th Commencement to be Held Sunday on Main Quadrangle

Broadcast Journalist Katie Couric will address Graduates, Faculty and Guests

HARTFORD, CT, May 15, 2014 - In a ceremony that is revered for its pomp, pageantry and historical significance, 576 students are expected to receive their degrees Sunday, May 18, before family members and other guests gathered on Trinity College’s Main Quadrangle.

The academic procession will begin at 10:50 a.m. as the students continue the tradition of stepping on The Luther-Roosevelt Long Walk Inscription in front of the Fuller Arch in Northam Towers. The inscription commemorates the visit in 1918 by then-President Theodore Roosevelt, who received an honorary degree that year.

The commencement ceremony is scheduled to begin at 11 a.m. and continue until the last of the diplomas, prizes and awards have been handed out. Among those graduating, 381 undergraduates will receive B.A. degrees; 169 will be awarded B.S. degrees; and 26 graduate students will receive master’s degrees.

Award-winning broadcast journalist Katie Couric is this year’s commencement speaker. She is the host of the daily syndicated talk show, Katie, and in November 2013 joined Yahoo as its first global news anchor. She narrated and produced Fed Up, a documentary about childhood obesity, which was released this spring.

Couric began her career in broadcast journalism in 1979 as a desk assistant at ABC News in Washington D.C., was deputy Pentagon correspondent for NBC News, national correspondent for the Today show, and was the first solo female anchor of an evening newscast when she took the helm of CBS Evening News.

She has won an Alfred I. DuPont Award for her interview with vice presidential candidate Sarah Palin in 2010 and an Emmy for Outstanding Interview for her profile of Capt. Chesley Sullenberger, “Saving Flight 1549.” She is also the author of New York Times bestseller, The Best Advice I Ever Got: Lessons from Extraordinary Lives. And she established the national Colorectal Cancer Research Alliance; the Jay Monahan Center for Gastrointestinal Health at New York-Presbyterian Hospital; and Stand Up To Cancer.

Couric will receive an honorary Doctorate of Letters for her exemplary career in broadcast journalist and her unwavering commitment to cancer research and awareness.

Honorary degrees also will be given to James F. Jones, Jr., president of Trinity College and professor in the humanities; Paul E. Raether, chair of the Trinity Board of Trustees; Julieta Castellanos, a human rights activist and president of the National Autonomous University of Honduras; Eric Roy Fossum, an engineer, inventor and professor with the Thayer School of Engineering at Dartmouth College; and Vernon E. Jordan, Jr., a civil rights activist, presidential adviser and senior counsel with Akin Gump Strauss Hauser & Feld.

Jones will receive an honorary Doctor of Humane Letters for his exceptional career as a teacher, scholar and leader in the field of education, and his devoted service to Trinity; Raether will receive an honorary Doctor of Humane Letters for his extraordinary service to his alma mater, generosity and wise leadership; Castellanos will receive an honorary Doctor of Humane Letters for fighting for justice, security, human rights and the bravery she has shown; Fossum will receive an honorary Doctor of Sciences degree for his extensive contributions to technology and his informed leadership of tomorrow’s brightest inventors and entrepreneurs; and Jordan will receive an honorary Doctor of Laws degree for a lifetime of leadership, his willingness to stand up and speak out and his exemplary career.

The valedictorian and salutatorian of the Class of 2014 will be named. In addition, 17 undergraduates have earned the designation Summa Cum Laude; 29 have earned the designation Magna Cum Laude; and 55 undergraduates have earned the designation Cum Laude. Nine graduate students earned the designation “Honors.”

Also, the Trinity College Trustee Awards for Faculty, Student and Staff Excellence will be announced, as will two awards for exemplary teaching: the Thomas Church Brownell Prize, which goes to a senior faculty member, and the Arthur H. Hughes Award for Teaching Achievement, which is given to a junior faculty member.

Following the ceremony, a reception will be held on the Soccer Field, where President Jones and his wife, Jan, and members of the Board of Trustees will congratulate the graduates and their guests.

Commencement will be held rain or shine on the Main Quadrangle. However, in the event of extreme weather conditions, the ceremony will be moved to the Koeppel Community Sports Center at 175 New Britain Ave. Seating will be limited to four tickets per graduate.

If such a move is necessary, details will be communicated by 7 a.m. Sunday. A notice will be posted at: For friends and family members who cannot get into Koeppel, the ceremony may be viewed in Cinestudio in the Clement Chemistry Building; McCook Auditorium; Boyer Auditorium in the Albert C. Jacobs Life Sciences Center; and the Washington Room in Mather Hall.

For more information about Trinity’s 188th Commencement, please visit: