Faculty and Staff Members Receive Special Recognition

Honoring Five Excellence Award Winners, 12 Retirees, and Six Individuals for 25 Years of Service

During the month of May, five Trinity College faculty and staff members were recognized with excellence awards. In addition, the College celebrated 12 Trinity employees who are retiring this year and six individuals who have reached the milestone of 25 years of service.

(L-R): Paul E. Raether '68, P'93, '96, '01 presents Trustee Awards for Faculty, Student, and Staff Excellence to Jason Rojas, Gaurav Toor '14, Tram Ngoc Luong '14, and Paul Lauter. Read more about faculty and staff honored with awards at Commencement 2014

(L-R): Marcia Johnson, director of the Budget Office, and President Jones honor Budget Manager Sarah Gerrett on the occasion of her retirement. View more photos here.​

At the Commencement Ceremony on May 18, the Board of Trustees honored Paul Lauter, Allan K. and Gwendolyn Miles Smith Professor of English, with a Trustee Award for Faculty Excellence and Jason Rojas, director of community relations, with a Trustee Award for Staff Excellence. Gerald Moshell, professor of music, was recognized with the Thomas Church Brownell Prize for Teaching Excellence. In addition, the Arthur H. Hughes Award for Teaching Excellence, given to a faculty member who has taught for fewer than nine years, was presented to two faculty members: Emilie Dressaire, assistant professor of engineering, and Kifah Hanna, assistant professor of language and culture studies.
At a May 13 Retirement and 25 Years of Service Celebration Luncheon, 12 individuals honored on the occasion of their retirement were Dave Ahlgren, Karl W. Hallden Professor of Engineering; Francis Egan, associate professor of economics; Maureen Field, assistant to the President; Sarah Gerrett, budget manager; Christine Guilmartin, associate director of calendar and special events; Kathleen Kelley, Smith House coordinator; Janet Marotto, assistant to the dean of faculty; David Norris, campus safety officer; David Robbins, Seabury Professor of Mathematics and Natural Philosophy; Peter Sobering, director of networking and systems; James Varner, assistant manager and press operator; and Beverly Wall, associate professor of English.
Those celebrating 25 years of service to Trinity recognized at the luncheon were David S. Chappell, network and systems programmer; Debbie Cook, switchboard and Mather operations coordinator; Michael Cook, director of enterprise applications; Carol Kessel, associate comptroller; Joseph Palladino, professor of engineering; and Martha Risser, associate professor of classics.
View photos from the Retirement and 25 Years of Service Celebration Luncheon here. Photos of excellence award recipients can be viewed on the Commencement Web site here.