Trinity College Dedicates Room to Philanthropic Family

A Passion for the Arts and Art History Is a Family Affair

​Hartford, Connecticut, May 18, 2016 – Trinity College dedicated the Dangremond Family Commons in Hallden Hall on April 7, 2016. The celebration recognized the Dangremonds’ gifts to support the renovation of the space and the family’s years of philanthropy and service to Trinity College. With the Dangremond family present, President Joanne Berger-Sweeney led a ceremony marking the official naming of this unique space open to all in the Trinity College community who wish to gather, share ideas, learn, and celebrate.

Augustus Dangremond ’14, David and Mary Dangremond P’14, Trinity College President Joanne Berger-Sweeney, and Sam Dangremond at the dedication ceremony of the Dangremond Family Commons.
Photo by Greg Hindy​
The Dangremonds’ passion for the arts and art history has been evidenced by the family’s long-standing ties to Trinity’s Art History program and with fine arts organizations in the region. David Dangremond P’14 is the St. Anthony Visiting Assistant Professor of Fine Arts and has taught at Trinity since 1996. He serves on the Board of Trustees of Trinity’s Watkinson Library and is the immediate past president and curatorial chair emeritus of the Wadsworth Atheneum in Hartford. He is also vice president and Collections Committee chair of the Florence Griswold Museum in Old Lyme, Connecticut, where he and his wife, Mary, are active in many community organizations. Their son Augustus earned an art history degree from Trinity in 2014 and currently works at Sotheby’s in New York City. Their older son, Sam, is a journalist and editor at Town & Country magazine.

The dedication followed a Friends of Art lecture titled “Art Museums Today: A Personal Perspective,” by Michael Conforti ’68, P’16, retired director of the Clark Art Institute.

The construction of Hallden Hall, originally the College’s engineering laboratory, in 1946 was made possible through a gift from philanthropist and alumnus Karl W. Hallden, Class of 1909. Today it is home to the Center for Teaching and Learning, the Trinity Institute for Interdisciplinary Studies, and the Art History Department. Adjoining the Dangremond Family Commons is the Klestadt Family Art History Seminar Room, given by Patricia Mairs Klestadt ’80 and Peter W. Klestadt P’09, ’11, along with their daughters, Alexandra ’09, and Lauren ’11. The room boasts state-of-the-art technology for multimedia, a versatile high-resolution projection system, and a camera linked to the system for close study of documents and other visual media within the classroom. This technology was given by Caroline C. Rafferty ’03, Nicholas K. Rafferty ’03, and the Peter D. and Julie Cummings Family Foundation.

Written by Julia S. Chianelli