Faculty Teaching and Research Prizes

Two prizes, awarded at Commencement, honor the teaching excellence of Trinity faculty, which is central to Trinity’s mission as a liberal arts college. 

The Thomas Church Brownell Prize for Teaching Excellence

The Thomas Church Brownell Prize for Teaching Excellence recognizes consistently outstanding teaching by a senior faculty member.  Tenured associate and full professors who have been at the College for at least three years and teach full time are eligible. Winners of the Brownell Prize are:

Adrienne Fulco
​2018 ​Diana Paulin
​2017 Sarah Bilston
​2016 ​John Platoff
​2015 ​Daniel Blackburn
​2014 ​Gerald Moshell
​2013 ​Samuel D. Kassow
​2012 ​Ellison Banks Findly
​2011 ​​Frank Kirkpatrick
​2010 ​​Timothy P. Curran
​2008 ​Ralph A. Morelli
​2004 ​Sheila M. Fisher
​2002 ​John H. Chatfield
​2000 ​Henry A. DePhillips, Jr.
​1998 ​Dirk A. Kuyk, Jr.
​1996 ​Craig W. Schneider
​1994 ​Dina L. Anselmi
​1992 ​Milla C. Riggio
​1990 ​Drew A. Hyland
​1988 ​Diane Zannoni
​1986 ​Robert C. Stewart

The Arthur H. Hughes Award for Teaching Achievement

The Arthur H. Hughes Award for Teaching Achievement recognizes excellence in teaching by junior members of the Faculty. Full-time junior faculty (assistant professors and lecturers) who are in at least their third through ninth year of service are eligible.  Winners of the Hughes Award are:

2019 Michelle Kovarik
​2018 Tamsin Jones
​2017 Katherine Bergren & Abigail Williamson
​2016 Jennifer Regan-Lefebvre
​2015 ​Daniel Mrozowski
​2014 Emilie Dressaire & Kifah Hanna
​2013 ​Ciaran Berry
​2012 ​Seth Markle
​​2011 ​​Laura Holt & Mark Stater
​2010 ​Christopher Hager
​​2009 ​​Eric A. Galm
​2008 ​Chloe Wheatley & Anne Gebelein
​2007 ​Christoph Geiss
​2006 ​Scott R. Smedley & David Rosen
​2005 ​Lisa-Anne Foster & Luis A. Figueroa
​2004 ​Gail H. Woldu
​2003 ​Lise Waxer & Thomas M. Mitzel
​2002 ​Sarah A. Raskin & Paul D. Assaiante
​2001 ​Jennifer Beineke
​2000 ​Vijay Prashad
​1999 ​E. Kathleen Archer & Carol Clark
​1998 ​Robert F. Peltier
​1997 Kathleen A. Curran & ​Ronald R. Thomas
​1996 ​Michael A. O'Donnell
​1995 ​M. Joshua Karter
​1994 ​Dario Del Puppo
​1993 ​Paula A. Russo
​1992 ​John H. Chatfield & Leslie Craine
​1991 ​Arthur Feinsod
​1990 ​Dan Lloyd

The Dana Research Professorship

The Dana Research Professorship was established to support one professor and two associate professors for whom a period of reduced teaching responsibilities would enable the recipients to move forward with an important piece of research. Historically, the award has been given to faculty with a considerable track-record of published scholarship who are at critical junctures of research and who would benefit greatly from having the released time.  Recipients of Dana Research Professorships are:

Dana Research Professors

2019-2021 Pablo Delano
​2017-2019 Kent Dunlap
​2015-2017 ​Sarah Raskin
​2013-2015 ​Mark Setterfield
​2011-2013 ​James Trostle
​2009-2011 ​Leslie Desmangles
​2007-2009 ​Diana Evans
​2005-2007 ​Gary Reger
​2003-2005 ​Miguel Ramirez
​2001-2003 ​Daniel Blackburn
​1999-2001 ​Ellison Findly
​1997-1999 ​Priscilla Kehoe
​1995-1997 ​Craig Schneider
​1993-1995 ​Frank Kirkpatrick
​1991-1993 ​Samuel Kassow
​1989-1991 ​Karl Haberlandt
​1987-1989 ​Howard Delong
​1985-1987 ​Albert Howard
​1983-1985 ​Glenn Weaver
Dana Research Associate Professors

2019-2021​ ​Lin Cheng & Abigail Williamson
2017-2019 Christopher Hager & Sara Kippur
2015-2017 Stefanie Chambers & Anne Lambright
2013-2015 Zayde Antrim & Jeffrey Bayliss
​2011-2013 Sonia Cardenas & Kevin McMahon
2009-2011 Susan Masino & Beth Notar
2007-2009 Kent Dunlap & Joan Morrison