College Squash Dynasty Continues

  2005 Trinity Men's Squash Team

Head Coach Paul Assaiante (r) and Assistant Coach James Montano (l) celebrate with the 7-time national champions.

The Trinity menís squash team extended its unprecedented winning streak to 125 matches, dating back to 1998, en route to its seventh consecutive national championship. The Bantams defeated Dartmouth (9-0), Princeton (8-1), and Harvard (7-2) in successive matches February 25-27 at Harvardís Murr Courts to retain the Potter Trophy, the College Squash Associationís (CSA) top prize for menís team competition.

Senior tri-captain Vishal Kapoor posted a 3-0 victory at the No. 9 position to complete a perfect career record of 37-0, leading top-ranked Trinity to the longest winning streak in any intercollegiate varsity sport. The Bantams were competing in their ninth straight CSA National Championship Finals.

Kapoor and junior Jacques Swanepoel each posted 3-0 victories in the first round of matches to give the Bantams a 2-1 lead. Sophomore Eduardo Pereira also won, 3-0, at the No. 5 spot to increase the lead to 3-1, and senior tri-captain Regardt Schonborn and sophomore Eric Wadhwa each recorded 3-1 triumphs to clinch the contest for Trinity after just six matches had been played.

Bantam sophomore Sahil Vora blanked his opponent at the No. 7 spot, and senior tri-captain Bernardo Samper added the finishing touch with an exciting 3-2 win over the nationís fourth-ranked player at the No. 1 position. Schonbornís victory at the No. 2 spot came against the nationís ninth-ranked player, while Pereira beat the sixteenth-ranked player in the country in the No. 5 match.


1. TC- Bernardo Samper defeated Siddharthe Suchde 3-2
2. TC- Regardt Schonborn defeted Ilan Oren 3-1
3. H- Michael Blumberg defeated Shaun Johnstone 3-0
4. H- Will Broadbent defeated Yvain Badan 3-0
5. TC- Eduardo Pereira defeated Asher Hochberg 3-0
6. TC- Jacques Swanepoel defeated Jason Delierre 3-0
7. TC- Sahil Vora defeated Garnet Booth 3-0
8. TC- Eric Wadhwa defeated Chessin Gertier 3-1
9. TC- Vishal Kapoor defeated Mihir Sheth


back to top

Return to eQuad table of contents