The Consortium on High Achievement and Success

Home

About CHAS

Members

Announcements

Calendar of Events

Past Meetings
Representatives Meetings

Student Conferences

Targeted Professionals Meetings

Faculty Forums

Presidents Forums


Resources

Publications

Contact Us

PAST MEETINGS

CHAS Prehealth Advisors Meeting

Strategies for Individual and
Cooperative Success in
the Health Fields

 

hosted by
Bryn Mawr College
Friday, June 8th, 2007

 


The following 36 health field representatives from 22 institutions participated in the one-day
conference which concentrated on effective ways to support, advise, and promote the
achievement of pre-medical students from CHAS institutions:


 

      Barnard

     College

Ani Bournoutian

abournoutian@barnard.edu

Elida Martinez
emartinez@barnard.edu

Christian Rojas
crojas@barnard.edu

Associate Dean of Studies



Academic Counselor

Associate Professor of Chemistry

 

 

 

      Bates

     College

Karen Palin
kpalin@bates.edu

Lecturer in Biology

 

 

 

     Bowdoin

     College

Susan Livesay
slivesay@bowdoin.edu

Director of Health
Professions Advising

 

 

 

    Bryn Mawr
    College

Coordinator:
Mary Beth Davis
medavis@brynmawr.edu



Vanessa Christman
vchristman@brynmawr.edu


Jodi Domsky
jdomsky@brynmawr.edu




Karen Tidmarsh
ktidmarsh@brynmawr.edu

 

 

Assistant Dean of the College &

Undergraduate Health Professions Advisor


Program Coordinator, Office of Intercultural Affairs

Associate Dean of the College and Director of Health Professions Advising

Dean of Undergraduate College

 

 

 

     Colby

    College

Cynthia Parker
caparker@colby.edu

 

Director of Career Services & PreMed Advisor

 

 

 

    College of

    the Holy

    Cross

Matthew Koss
mkoss@holycross.edu

 

Associate Professor of Physics

 

 

 

    Dartmouth

    College

Kim Whitney Sauerwein
kim.sauerwein@dartmouth.edu

 

Assistant Director of Career Services & First- Year Health

Professionals

 

 

 

   Drexel  

   University

  College of

  Medicine

Anthony R. Rodriguez, MD
anthony.rodriguez@drexelmed.edu

 

Associate Dean for Student Affairs and Diversity

 

 

    Franklin 

    and

    Marshall
    College

 

 

Ken Hess
ken.hess@fandm.edu

Steven O’Day
stevenoday@fandm.edu

Kent Trachte
kent.trachte@fandm.edu

 

 

 

Professor, Department of Chemistry

Associate Dean of the College

 

Dean of the College

    Hamilton

   College

Leslie B. North
Lnorth@hamilton.edu

 

Coordinator of Health Professions Advising

 

 

 

 

   Haverford

   College


Philip A. Bean
pbean@haverford.edu


Michelle Taillon Taylor
mtaylor1@haverford.edu


Jeff Tecosky-Feldman

jtecosky@haverford.edu

 


Dean and  Director of OAR

Prehealth Advisor


Director of Multicultural Scholars Program

 

  Jefferson

  Medical

  College

 

 Edward B. Christian, Ph.D.

edward.christian@jefferson.edu

 

 

Associate Dean for Diversity and Minority Affairs

 

 

 

  Middlebury

  College

Arlinda Wickland
wickland@middlebury.edu

 

Director, Office of Health Professionals

 

 

 

 Philadelphia

  College of       

Osteopathic

   Medicine

Deborah Benvenger

DeborahBe@pcom.edu

 
Mariesa Hinchey, MS
MariesaHI@pcom.edu

 

Director of Admissions

 


Admissions Recruiter

 

 

 

   Pomona

   College

E.J. Crane
ejcrane@pomona.edu

 

Assistant Professor of Chemistry

 

 

 

   Smith

   College

Daryl Gehman

dgehman@email.smith.edu

 

Assistant Director,
Career Development Office

 

 

 

 Swarthmore

   College

Betsy Horner
bhorner1@swarthmore.edu


Gigi Simeone
gsimeon@swarthmore.edu



 

Advisor for Student Mentoring


Health Sciences Advisor

    Temple

    University

    School
    of

    Medicine

Martin Whitaker, Jr.
martin.whitaker@temple.edu


Raul DeLa Cadena
cadena@temple.edu

 

Director of Admissions


 

Admissions Recruiter

    Trinity

    College

William Church
william.church@trincoll.edu

 

Alison Draper

alison.draper@trincoll.edu

 

Associate Professor Chemistry/Neuroscience

Director Science Center

 

 

 

 University

    of  Pennsylvania

  School of

  Medicine

Karen Hamilton, Ph.D.

khamilto@mail.med.upenn.edu


Gaye Sheffler

sheffler@mail.med.upenn.edu

 

Asst. Dean of Diversity in Undergraduate Medical Education Academic Programs

Director Admissions and Financial Aid

 

 

 

  Wellesley

  College

Sheila Brachfield-Child
sbrachfe@wellesley.edu

Ellie Perkins
eperkins@wellesly.edu

 

Director of Medical Professions Advising

Director of Fellowship & Preprofessional Programs

 

 

 

   Yale

   University

   School of

   Medicine

 

 

Forrester Lee, MD
woody.lee@yale.edu

 

Director of Yale SMDEP

Assistant Dean of Multicultural Affairs
 

 

Click here for meeting minutes

 

 

 

AGENDA

 

 

8:30 AM    REGISTRATION,  THOMAS Great Hall
 
              

9:00 AM    WELCOME: THOMAS Room 110
                

             
    Opening remarks and information about CHAS
                Karen Tidmarsh, Dean of the Undergraduate College
                                         Bryn Mawr College

 

9:30 AM    Keynote Speaker:

                Dr. Forrester A. Lee, M.D.
                Assistant Dean of Multicultural Affairs
                Professor of Medicine
                Yale University School of Medicine

Dr. Lee will discuss the persistent challenges students from underrepresented
and disadvantaged groups face in their pursuit of a medical career.
He will also share perspectives from his role as the Director of the Yale
Summer Medical and Dental Education Program (SMDEP).
More information about Dr. Lee and his work is available at these websites:
Dr. Forrester A. Lee
Yale SMDEP
National SMDEP

 


10:30 AM
    Coffee Break, CLOISTERS
                    

 


10:45 AM
    Discussion of Academic Support Programs Panels
                     Facilitating the Transition to College-level Science for Under-prepared Students.
                  (THOMAS Room 110)

                    
PANELISTS:
                       
                       
Jeff Tecosky-Feldman                  
Senior Lecturer in Mathematics
                                                                                 
Director of Haverford Summer Science Institute
                                                                                  Haverford College
                  
                        
Kim Whitney Sauerwein     
       Assistant Director of Career Services
                                                                    and First-Year Health Professions Advisor
                                                                       
         Dartmouth College

                        
Betsy Horner                               
Advisor for Student Mentoring Programs
                                                                               
Swarthmore College
 

 

11:30 AM     Breakout Groups, Thomas Room 110
                 
                  Discussion of challenges that advisors have while reaching out to
                  underrepresented students in order to help them attain their academic and career goals. 
                  Strategies for advisors to collaborate with other student support offices and
                  Institutional Diversity programs will also be discussed. 

 

12:15 PM      LUNCH, THOMAS Great Hall

 


1:30–3:00 PM

                  Panel Presentation:   THOMAS Great Hall
                 
                  Philadelphia area medical schools representatives discuss professional school admissions and
                  support programs for matriculated students.


                   Panel Moderator: Jodi Domsky, Associate Dean & Director of Health Professions Advising
                                                       Bryn Mawr

                   PANELISTS:
                                                             
                   Anthony Rodriguez, MD                     
Associate Dean for Student Affairs & Diversity
                                                                                   Drexel University College of Medicine                      

                   Edward  B. Christian, Ph.D.               
Associate Dean for Diversity & Minority Affairs
                                                                                  Jefferson Medical College

                   Deborah Benvenger, M.B.A.               
Director of Admissions                       
                                                                                   Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine

                   Raul A. DeLa Cadena MD, F.A.C.P.   
Assistant Dean and Director, Recruitment & Retention Program
                                                                                   Temple University School of Medicine

                   Karen E. Hamilton, Ph. D.                  
Assistant Dean for Diversity in Undergraduate Medical Education
                                                                     Academic Programs Officer
                                                                                   University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine



3:00        WRAP UP SESSION and FINAL COMMENTS
 

 



REGISTRATION

Bryn Mawr Campus DIRECTIONS click here


 


 

 

Planning committee:
 

Mary Beth Davis Assistant Dean & Undergraduate Health Professions Advisor     medavis@brynmawr.edu    Bryn Mawr College
Karen Tidmarsh Dean of the Undergraduate College                                            ktidmars@brynmawr.edu  Bryn Mawr College
Christopher MacDonald Dennis Assistant Dean & Director of Intercultural Affairs                        cmacden@brynmawr.edu Bryn Mawr College
Joanne O'Doherty   Administrative Assistant to the Undergraduate Dean                    jodohert@brynmawr.edu Bryn Mawr College
Gigi Simeone Health Sciences Advisor and Pre-Law Advisor                       gsimeon1@swarthmore.edu Swarthmore College
Ani Bournoutian Associate Dean & Health Professions Advisor                                         abournoutian@barnard.edu Barnard College

 

 

Barnard College | Bates College | Bowdoin College | Bryn Mawr College | Bucknell University | Carleton College | Clark University |
Colgate University | College of the Holy Cross | Connecticut College | Dartmouth College |
Geneseo (SUNY)
|   Hamilton College | Hampshire College | Haverford College | Lafayette CollegeMount Holyoke College  | Oberlin College
|  | Pomona College | Reed College | Sarah Lawrence College | Skidmore College | Smith College | Swarthmore College |
 Trinity CollegeUnion College | University of the South | Vassar College |
Wellesley College |
Wheaton College | Williams College