The Consortium on High Achievement and Success


About CHAS



Calendar of Events

Past Meetings



Contact Us

   Meeting of Institutional Representatives

Biannual Consortium Representatives Meeting
Vassar College
Poughkeepsie, NY

June 18, 2010


9:00-9:30 AM              Breakfast

9:30-10:00 AM              Welcome
                                        Ed Pittman,
Associate Dean of the College (Vassar)
                                        Chris Roellke, Dean of the College (Vassar)
                                        Opening remarks (Powerpoint link)
                                        by CHAS steering board Chairperson,
                                        Holly Sateia,
Vice President for Institutional Diversity & Equity (Dartmouth College)

10:00 – 11:00 AM         Guest speaker:
                                         Janice Eddy
, Portsmouth Consulting Group
"Creating Community on the Campus for Everyone -
                                         The Promise and the Perils"

11:00 – 11:15 PM           Break

11:15 AM– 12:00 PM   Faculty presentation
                                        Light Carruyo, Assistant Professor of Sociology (Vassar )
                                        and  Eve Dunbar
, Assistant Professor of English (Vassar )
                                        on “Emerging Pedagogical Practices and High Achievement
                                        in the Multicultural Classroom and Beyond”
12:00 – 1:00 PM           Lunch
1:00 – 1:45 PM             Bridge Programs Revisited
                                        Alison Draper (Powerpoint link),
Director, Science Center (Trinity)
Darryl Smaw, Associate Dean for Multicultural Affairs (Swarthmore )
Teague Morris (Powerpoint link), Assessment Officer (Bates)

1:45 – 2:15 PM            Small Group Discussions

 2:15 - 3:30 PM            Project updates:
                                       Strategic Communications:
                                       Rolando Arroyo-Sucre,
Chief Officer of Diversity & Equity (Bucknell)
                                       Work with Foundations:
                                       Leslie Hill (Powerpoint link),
Associate Professor Political Science &
                                                            Special Assistant to the President
                                      CHAS Self- Assessment:
                                       Kidan Kassahun (Powerpoint link), CHAS Director

3:30 - 4:00 PM             FUTURE DIRECTIONS
                                       Announcement of newly-elected board members and
                                       Appreciation for departing members
                                       Holly Sateia

                                       Planning committee formation for June 2011 Meeting
                                       Eric Estes
Associate Dean of Academic Diversity (Oberlin)

Barnard College | Bates College | Bowdoin College | Bryn Mawr College | Bucknell University | Carleton College | Clark University |
Colgate University | College of the Holy Cross | Connecticut College | Dartmouth College |   Geneseo (SUNY) |   Hamilton College
| Hampshire College | Haverford College | Lafayette College Mount Holyoke College Oberlin College
|  | Pomona College | Reed College | Sarah Lawrence College | Skidmore College | Smith College | Swarthmore College |
 Trinity College Union College | University of the South | Vassar College |
Wellesley College |
Wheaton College | Williams College