Advisory Committees

An advisory committee advises Dean Chen on strategic objectives and planning, programming activities and initiatives, and general deployment of resources that help strengthen the center’s central role in achieving Trinity’s urban-global mission of linking the campus, the city of Hartford, and the world.

The committee consists of nine Trinity faculty who represent the broad disciplinary spectrum and diverse interests in both Hartford and the global arena. The Trinity faculty members on the committee serve a three-year term beginning January 1, 2008. The committee also includes three important community representatives and three distinguished honorary members from outside of Trinity.

Faculty Advisory Committee

  • Janet Bauer, Associate Professor of International Studies
  • Lin Cheng, Associate Professor of Engineering
  • Andrea Dyrness, Associate Professor of Educational Studies
  • Donna-Dale Marcano, Director of Human Rights Program and Associate Professor of Philosophy
  • Reo Matsuzaki, Assistant Professor of Political Science
  • Miguel Ramirez, Ward S. Curran Distinguished Professor of Economics
  • Martha Risser, Associate Professor of Classics

    Advisory Committee Members from the Hartford Community

    • Ted Carroll, President, Leadership Greater Hartford
    • Calixto Torres, Councilman, the City of Hartford
    • Hyacinth Yennie, Chairperson, Maple Avenue Neighborhood Revitalization Zone

    Honorary Members

    • Andy Bessette, Executive Vice President and Chief Administrative Officer, The Travelers Companies and Trinity Board of Trustee, P '10
    • Saskia Sassen, Lynd Professor of Sociology and Committee on Global Thought, Columbia University