Rent, the Musical, to be Performed at the Austin Arts Center

The Drama won the 1996 Pulitzer Prize and Three Tony Awards

From left to right: Sean Snyder '13, Marc Alexis '13, and Malcolm Williams '14 at an early rehersal for Rent. 

What: Rent, the winner of the 1996 Pulitzer Prize for Drama and the Tony Award for Best Musical, Best Score, and Best Book, will be staged by Trinity’s Department of Music. Admission is free but reservations are recommended. They can be made by calling 860-297-2199. The box office is open Monday through Friday from 1 p.m. to 6 p.m. and two hours prior to events.

Click here for excerpts from the performance.

When:  Thursday through Saturday, October 25-27 at 7:30 p.m.

Where: Goodwin Theater in the Austin Arts Theater on the Trinity campus, 300 Summit Street.

Background: With book, music, and lyrics by Jonathan Larson, Rent follows a year in the life of a group of struggling young artists and musicians in the gritty East Village in New York City. The physical and emotional complications of HIV/AIDS pervade the lives of Roger, Mimi, Tom, and Angel. How they negotiate their dreams, loves, and conflicts provide the narrative thread to the rock musical

The direction and choreography is by Erik Bloomquist ’14, and the musical direction is by Music Professor Gerald Moshell. 

“In the past two decades, Rent has become an iconic piece of contemporary theater, with some of the most instantly recognizable songs from the musical theater repertoire. I’m very excited to have the opportunity to mount a production of it at Trinity College,” said Bloomquist.

Additional choreography is provided by Chloé Kounadis, a BFA musical theater candidate at The Hartt School at the University of Hartford. The set design is by Elisa Griego, costume design is by Carolyn Toner ’14, and lighting design is by Liam Doran ’14.

The cast consists of Marc Alexis ’13, Morganna Becker ’13, Kristan Bertschmann ’15, Anisha Chakrabarti ’14, Kathryn Durkin ’15, Luke Hickox ’16, Rey Llena ’15, Ebban Maeda ’16, Maya Mineoi ’14, Maggie Muñoz ’16, Jackie Pennell ’14, Russell Pierson ’16, Rae Rossetti ’16, Sean Snyder ’13, John Stiller ’14, Corey Trowbridge ’13, Sarah Wallingford ’15, Sarah Watson ’15, Malcolm Williams ’14. They will be accompanied by a six-piece orchestra.  ​​​​​​