Trinity Crew Programs Receive ECAC Rowing Trophy for the Third Time

Men’s and Women’s Teams capture Combined Overall Points Trophy

The Trinity men's and women's rowing programs were honored with the 2013 Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) Rowing Trophy. The Bantams captured the Men's and Women's Combined Overall Points Trophy in the New England Championship Regatta and the ECAC Regatta in the spring. Trinity collected its third ECAC Rowing Trophy and its second in four years, having previously received the honor in 2006 and 2010.

Trinity men's rowing, under 2013 New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) Coach of the Year Kevin MacDermott (4th season), finished the 2012-13 intercollegiate season with an 11-0 record in dual races and finished first in the New England Championships and fourth in the ECAC National Invitational Regatta.

The Bantam oarswomen, coached by Wesley Ng (7th season), posted a 4-0 record in dual races this spring, won five regattas in

Women's Rowing Coach Wesley Ng
 the fall and spring seasons, and its varsity-eight crew finished third in the New England Championships, and fourth in both the ECAC National Invitational Regatta and the NCAA Division III Championship Regatta. The Trinity women won Overall Points Trophies at both the New England Championship and ECAC Regattas and claimed third place overall at the NCAA Regatta.

Representatives from the College will be recognized at the 2013 Honors Dinner held in conjunction with the 25th Annual ECAC Convention and Trade Show that will be held September 29-October 1 at the Sea Crest Beach Hotel in North Falmouth, Mass. The Honors Dinner is on Sunday, September 29 at 6:30 p.m.

The ECAC Rowing Trophy is given annually to the ECAC College or University men’s and women’s rowing programs that best demonstrate the core values of the ECAC, (tradition, diversity and service), along with success at the premier Eastern Regattas. The regattas are the Division I Eastern Association of Rowing Colleges Sprints and Eastern Association of Women’s Rowing Colleges Sprints and the ECAC National Invitational Rowing Championship.

The trophy is awarded based on a points average for the finish of the varsity eight, second varsity eight, and novice eight entrees in the EARC Heavyweight and NIRC Men’s and Women’s Heavyweight regattas. Points in the EAWRC Heavyweight regattas are compiled based on results from the varsity, second varsity and varsity four results.

For more information, please visit

 Men's rowing coach Kevin MacDermott is pictured on the home page.