Dean of the Faculty

Thomas Mitzel was named dean of the faculty and vice president for academic affairs on July 1, 2013.

A former chemistry professor at Trinity who also served three years as associate academic dean, Mitzel returned to Trinity as dean of the faculty after nearly two years as dean of the School of Natural Sciences and interim director of the Wild Basin Creative Research Center at St. Edward’s University in Austin, Texas.

Mitzel joined Trinity’s faculty in 1996 and rose through the ranks, becoming a professor in 2011. He was the recipient of the Arthur H. Hughes Award for Excellence in Teaching for New and Continuing Faculty in 2003. Mitzel has also been awarded grants from numerous sources, including the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service; the National Science Foundation; Pfizer; the Howard Hughes Medical Institute; and most recently, the W. M. Keck Foundation.

While on the faculty at Trinity, he served as the chair of the Appointments and Promotions Advisory Committee, the Financial Affairs Committee, and the College Affairs Committee.  Additionally, he served on the Curriculum Committee, ITEC, the Curricular Review Finance Committee, the College Financial Oversight Committee, the Academic Dishonesty Appeals Board, and the Global Initiatives Cornerstone Advisory Committee. 

Mitzel holds a B.S. in chemistry from Northern State University in Aberdeen, South Dakota, and a Ph.D. in physical organic chemistry from Boston College. Prior to his arrival at Trinity in 1996, Mitzel was a postdoctoral fellow at The Ohio State University.

Click here to read Dean Mitzel's September 2014 Address to the Faculty.

Click here to read Dean Mitzel's September 2013 Address to the Faculty.