Staff/Contact Information


Thomas Mitzel
Professor of Chemistry Tom Mitzel was appointed Dean of the Faculty and Vice President for Academic Affairs on July 1, 2013. Reporting to the President, he is the chief academic officer and the second ranking officer of the College.

The dean shares responsibility for academic administration with two associate deans.  Although each member of the dean's staff operates with considerable autonomy in his or her respective sphere, each is responsible for keeping the dean informed of emerging issues and actions taken, and for working together as a part of a coordinated team.
The Deans of Academic Affairs are:



Sonia Cardenas
Dean of Academic Affairs and Professor of Political Science                                
(Williams Memorial 226, 860-297-4193)


Melanie Stein
Dean of Academic Affairs and Professor of Mathematics
(Williams Memorial 232, 860-297-2290)

Three staff members, functioning as a team, provide a range of administrative support services to the Dean's Office, the faculty, various committees, and others engaged in academic administration.



 Sylvia W. DeMore
Special Assistant to the Dean of Faculty, assists the dean with all matters pertaining to the A&P Committee and the Educational Policy Committee, contract renewals, appointment letters, leave requests, faculty profiles, and faculty newsletters.  She also assists the Ann Plato Search Committee.
(Williams Memorial 228, 860-297-2152)


 Nan Horton
Administrative Assistant, Dean of Faculty's Office, manages the Deans' calendars and the daily
flow of activity within the Dean of Faculty's Office.
(Williams Memorial 118, 860-297-2144)

Patricia Moody
Academic Budget Manager, manages the various budgets for which the Dean’s Office has responsibility.  She also tracks expenses, performs budget analysis, and processes all
faculty reimbursement requests.

(Williams Memorial 231, 860-297-2128)