Tributes in the Senior Year

President’s Fellow

At the start of each year, INTS faculty members select one major to be the President’s Fellow. Established in 1974, the Society of President’s Fellows honors one senior from each department and program. The President’s Fellows meet with the President and discuss campus issues; they also edit the Trinity Papers.


Students who complete the Honors Thesis with a grade of A or A- and attain an A- average overall in their eleven-credit major qualify for Honors.

The Professor Albert L. Gastmann Book Prize in International Studies

Established in 2000, the Gastmann Prize is given annually to a senior major in INTS with experience abroad who has demonstrated exceptional academic achievements. Albert L. Gastmann came to Trinity College in 1954, taught in the Political Science department, wrote several books (including the 1968 monograph, The Politics of Surinam and the Netherlands Antilles, as well as the co-authored 2001 book, A History of Credit and Power in the Western World), and gave yeoman service to the then fledgling INTS program. Prof. Gastmann died on February 1, 2007.