Department News

Sarah Beckmann '18 selected as  a 2018 Connecticut Poetry Circuit Student Poet 

Each year, the Connecticut Poetry Circuit selects five student poets from colleges across the state to participate in a series of readings at Connecticut campuses during the spring semester.  The work of the winners of this prestigious competition is also published in Connecticut Review.  This year, Trinity’s Sarah Beckmann '18 is one of those selected to represent her college. Sarah and the other student poets will be reading at Trinity on March 1 at 4:30 in the Reese Room of Smith House.  The reading will be free and open to the public.

Three English Department Faculty Members Receive Awards at Commencement

Three English Department faculty members received awards at Commencement on Sunday, May 21. Professor Sarah Bilston was the recipient of the Thomas Church Brownell Award for Teaching Excellence; Professor Katherine Bergren was the recipient of the Dean Arthur H. Hughes Award for Achievement in Teaching; and Professor Christopher Hager was the recipient of the Charles A. Dana Research Professorship Award. Congratulations to all!


Carl Phillips named 2017 Hugh Ogden Poet-in-Residence

The English Department is pleased to announce that this year’s Hugh Ogden Poet-in-Residence is the distinguished poet Carl Phillips.  The residency was established by family, friends, and colleagues in memory of Hugh S. Ogden, Professor of English at Trinity College from 1967 – 2006.  Past Hugh Ogden Poets have included David Wojahn, Steve Foley, James Longenbach, Chase Twichell, Herman Asarnow, and others.  During his residency in March, Phillips will deliver a craft lecture, meet with Trinity students, visit with younger poets from the Hartford public schools, and read from his work as part of this year’s Allan K. Smith Reading Series. 

A reception and public reading will take place on March 8, at 7 pm, in the Admissions Grand Room.   This reading will be free and open to the public.