English Department Contests and Scholarships


The Jim Murray Memorial Foundation (JMMF) is a nonprofit organization established in 1999 to perpetuate the Jim Murray legacy, and his love for and dedication to his extraordinary career in journalism.  The JMMF presents its annual essay competition for a $5,000 scholarship to be awarded to a Trinity College student who meets the following guidelines: 
 ~ The Trinity College student must be a Connecticut resident. 
 ~ An applicant must be a sophomore intending to declare an English major or a junior who has declared the English major and will graduate in spring of 2016 (or 2017). 
 ~ An applicant must show integrity of character, interest in and respect for his/her fellow humans, and the energy to use his/her writing talents to the fullest extent. 
~ An applicant must have at least a 3.0 grade point average and be enrolled full-time

If you are interested in applying for this scholarship, please click on the following link for more information or for an application​.


The Trinity College English Department awards prizes annually in each of the following categories:  CREATIVE WRITING, SHORT STORIES, POETRY, PLAY SCRIPTS, ESSAYS, and SPEECHES.  These contests are open to all undergraduates presently registered at Trinity College.  Deadline for submissions is Monday, April 6th and winners will be notified prior to the Honor’s Day Ceremony held on May 1st at 3:30 in the College Chapel.   For more information on the English Department Prizes, please click here

If you have any questions regarding the Jim Murray Memorial Foundation Scholarship or the English Department Prizes, please contact Christina Bolio at 860-297-2036 or christina.bolio@trincoll.edu.  Guidelines and forms can also be 
picked up in the lobby of the English Building.