News & Events

Department News

The Engineering Department of Trinity College is sad to report the passing of August E. Sapega, K.W. Hallden Prof. of Engineering (Emeritus). The below obituary describes Gus’ incredible commitment and contributions to Trinity College over the years, but the Engineering Department would like to further convey how important and significant his career has been to engineering and computer science at Trinity College. Current engineering faculty members describe Gus as a wonderful role model and mentor for younger faculty. Gus’ retirement celebration in 1993 brought over 100 alums and former co-workers on campus that told many loving stories about Gus with great glee, giving testimony of his impact on so many people as a teacher, scholar, colleague, and friend. Gus is also credited with bringing the study of computing to Trinity College, leading ultimately to the creation of the Department of Computer Science, as well as being responsible for maintaining and growing the engineering program during tough times. He is in our thoughts, and he will be missed.

Obituary for August E. Sapega.


2nd Annual Engineering Alumni/ae Reunion

Unfortunately, the 2nd Annual Trinity College Engineering Alumni/ae Reunion that was scheduled for Saturday, October 18, 2014, has had to be cancelled. We are sorry that we will not be able to visit with our wonderful alum but we look forward to another reunion in the future.

Engineering Alumni Reunion

The first annual Engineering Alumni Reunion event that took place on October 18 was AMAZING! Thank you everyone who participated and made this a very special event for our students. Check out the pictures on flickr and watch the slideshow below. 





Trinity Engineering in the News


Berger-Sweeney looks to strengthen Trinity's ties to CT Inc. (Hartford, 1/5/2015)


Trinity Engineering Students in the News 

2014/2015 President's Fellow
The engineering faculty have selected Erin Barney as the 2014/2015 President’s Fellow for the Engineering Department.
Elizabeth Gerber `14 selected as a Woman of Innovation
Elizabeth Gerber (right, shown here with Liz Garypie `99, left) was selected as Women of Innovation® celebrated at the Connecticut Technology Council’s Women of Innovation® awards dinner on March 27. This year’s winners have exhibited exceptional leadership and innovation while working in their fields. For more information about this event, visit the CTC event page.

Paper co-authored by two trinity students won best paper award

We are happy to report that a paper co-authored by two trinity students won the best paper award at the 24th IASTED Conference on Parallel and Distributed Computing and Systems in November 2012.

The paper is titled "An Efficient Out-of-Core Implementation of Block Cholesky Decomposition on a Multi-GPU System". The authors are Prof. Lin Cheng, Philip Cho (2015), Jiajia Zhao (2015) and Prof. Peter Yoon from the Computer Science department. The paper went through a rigorous review process. Five expert reviews are given to each paper.

When the conference organizers found out that the paper was co-authored by two undergraduate students, they seemed truly impressed by the high caliber of our students and the college’s commitment to student research. Jiajia’s work was a part of her ISP research, and Philip’s research was funded by FRC SRP. Prof. Lin Cheng and Prof. Peter Yoon have certainly enjoyed working with these talented and committed students.

Please join them in congratulating Jiajia and Philip for their remarkable achievement.


2013 Travelers Companies Foundation Senior Research Prize

Congratulations to Tarah N. Sullivan '13 and Han Wu '13, winners of the 2013 Travelers Companies Foundation Senior Research Prize for their projects entitled "Drag Reduction in Superhydrophobic Pipes" and "Waste Vegetable Oil Conversion for Diesel Cars" respectively. This prize is awarded to student(s) whose senior research project in the field of engineering has been deemed the most outstanding by an independent board chosen from Trinity faculty and The Travelers staff.



Congratulations to Mark K. Yanagisawa '14 and Joanna Wycech '14, winners of the 2013 Edwin P. Nye Award. This award was established in 1983 by family, friends, and colleagues of the late Professor Emeritus Edwin P. Nye and goes to an undergraduate who has demonstrated understanding and concern for the need to achieve a harmonious balance between man's technology and the natural environment. Selection of the recipient is made by the Engineering faculty.

Congratulations to Junius Santoso '14, winner of the 2013 Hartford Section of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) Prize. This prize is awarded by the Hartford Chapter of The American Society of Mechanical Engineering to a full-time junior or senior who is concentrating in mechanical engineering and has an exceptional academic record.

Congratulations to Hokchhay Tann '14, winner of the 2013 Junior Engineering Book Prize. This prize recognizes a rising senior engineering major who has demonstrated outstanding academic achievement and shown evidence of professional development. The recipient is chosen by a vote of the Engineering Department faculty.

Congratulations to Junius Santoso '14, winner of the 2013 Theodore R. Blakeslee II Award. This award was established in 1992 by the family, friends, and colleagues of the late Professor Theodore R. Blakeslee II, Associate Professor of Engineering, to reward the outstanding teaching assistant in engineering.

Trinity Engineering Alumni in the News

Dr. Ted Moise '87

EE Web interview with Dr. Ted Moise '87 - Analog CMOS and Embedded Memory Roadmap Manager at Texas Instruments. Watch a video about TI innovator: Ted Moise and the impact of FRAM development.

Dr. Eric Fossum '79

Dartmouth Now announcement - Professor of Engineering Eric Fossum has been elected to the National Academy of Engineering. Dr. Fossum will be giving a talk, "Inside Your Camera - The Science and Technology of Digital Image Sensors", here at Trinity College on Wednesday, March 6,2013. The talk will take place in McCook Auditorium at 4:15 p.m. (CTNewsJunkie article).